How did you start DJing? Did you have lessons?

For all your off topic conversation requirements. No posts about gigs please, use the Music forum. As usual, no "NSFW" material, keep it clean.

How did you learn to dj?

Did u teach yourself?
94%
Did you get professional lessons?
6%

Total votes: 35

andy_hoffman

How did you start DJing? Did you have lessons?

Post by andy_hoffman »

Hey i'm just wondering how many of the dj's on here were self taught or had lessons professionally or got help from a mate or something. Cos there's alot of cool tricks in djing and i wonder how people found them out and got good at it.
...................................................................................................................................................
no more epilepsy raptor jesus
Feigan

Post by Feigan »

I'm self taught but I don't know any tricks

maybe I should get a lesson
breaksRbest

Post by breaksRbest »

I just ran up to the set up behing Lynt while he was playing and Hey Presto, I'm a air DJ

What ya need to know Feigan? Come over mate, no records necessary
I think I am, Therefore I am. I think
cj the taniwha

Post by cj the taniwha »

i got a lot of help and advice from mates, and the lovely freddy mcfly gave me some useful help and then left me on the decks one night at scubar at the start of the night to fend for myself, that was wicked. :D
Back from the desert to stir things up a little :)
andy_hoffman

Post by andy_hoffman »

hey i put a 3rd option on the poll for if u got taught by a friend but it didnt come up on the poll :S how do i change it?
...................................................................................................................................................
Grey Son

Post by Grey Son »

Did it myself.
Had 2 belt drives and a 1 sec sampler with a mixer about 10 years ago!!
I played tek and house back then so when i got into beats i had to change my style a bit but i seem to get by pretty well!!