Where to begin?

Tips, hints, help, tech support, setups, systems and all things related to making phat beats. Post your latest production for all to hear & review. Or quiz the resident nerds about that tech problem you just can't figure out.
Shifty-Sly

Where to begin?

Post by Shifty-Sly »

Hey everyone, :smt006

Just after some advice if you guy's wouldnt mind...... :idea:

I'm pretty keen to start learning how to produce and try and get some of the sounds outta my head and through some speakers. :twisted:

I have started to do a bit of research myself but would like to know where you guys think is the best place to start for a absolute novice.

Any thoughts on what programs to use and what I should be trying to learn as my base skills.

Look forward to any suggestions. :D
NakedAge

Re: Where to begin?

Post by NakedAge »

Just get reason and or fruity loops and do what ever you think sounds good. Play around with it all and shit.

Then as you go on you'll see you need different programs for different things and how to incoorporate them all.
Importing, exporting, using 2 samples together to make 1 etc etc etc ..
tactik

Post by tactik »

My advice;

If you start with a professional program, like Cubase or Logic, and start exploring all the VST and VSTi goodies available... then you'll be in good stead later on down the track to use the skills acquired through the experience...

If you start with Reason (for example) , you will get very good at using it... and then it's limitations will shit you up the walls.
(Although, there is nothing stopping you from ReWiring the bugger into Cubase, etc..)

Fruityloops seems, by all accounts, a pretty good third-way between the daunting pro mastering, sequencing and audio production suites, and the more limited, but user-friendly environments of Reason et al.

So you will need to acquire;
Fruityloops (or FLStudio) for sequencing and control
VSTi synths (albino, sytrus, z3ta, pro53, b4) for noise