I'm not Local, i'm just an artist...

This is the forum for all things Melbourne beats. Post your gigs and other Melbourne music related information here. Keep it about the music and music only, please keep on topic.
LowQui

I'm not Local, i'm just an artist...

Post by LowQui »

Hi Everyone,

So there is something I have to get off my chest about the use of the word "Local" to describe artists and in particular myself. Please read all of this and get my meaning before jumping in... No disrespect to Melbournians or Australians is intended.

On a personal tip:

I've been mc'ing since 1992 and learnt my trade originally in the UK but then at global raves and stages. I have never been classed as a "Local" MC in London or the UK, in fact, the term 'local" doesn't even exist there as far as I know, you just have DJ's or MC's (sometimes split into established or up and coming).

When I lived, MC'd and promoted raves in Germany I wasn't classed as German (even though I have german family) as the UK tag does not relate to where I lay my head, it's more about my background, hours spent on the MIC training live, on radio and in the studio. Most importantly (IMO) the UK tag recognises my inbred attitude to and passionate love for drum & bass music.

So now I live in Melbourne (which I love) and some people keep trying to say i'm "local", most of the time with the best intentions - now here's the thing, I'm not and never will be a "Local" as you can't erase 17 years of performing history that has developed into what you see now just because I wake up in the southern hemisphere.

So whats the problem with being called a "Local" anyway?

Obviously the basis of Local is the flip to Internationals who tour here. International is a cool tag, here's why I don't think local is...